Steve Black, Happy Birthday To 'U'

(0 review)


20,00 € 20.0 EUR 20,00 €

20,00 €

    Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

    PRE ORDER => 2022 11 18


    A1 Osasuima

    A2 No Stopping Me Now

    A3 Trouble Woman

    B1 Stop This War

    B2 Happy Birthday To U

    B3 Ololufe / Stay The Night

    B4 Don't Say What You Can't Do


    Originally released in: 1983

    * Nigerian disco funk par excellance with a world ethno pop touch

    * For fans of Kiki Gyan, Paul Simon

    * Filled to the last groove with catchy tunes that feature awesome soulful harmonies

    * An original affair for fans of groovy black music

    * Excellent sound and performance by high class professional musicians

    * First ever rerelease on vinyl and CD

    * Fully licensed

    * Remastered audio

    * LP housed in a superheavy 430g art carton cover

    * CD housed in a rock solid jewel case

    * Ultimate collectors item for fans of classic afro funk

    How do you follow up a stone-cold Afro Funk classic like Village Boogie’ Simple. Gather together some of the hottest players in Nigeria, take them down to the Phonodisk studios in Ijebu Igbo and let them loose on a bunch dancefloor fillers you spent the last four years ‘road testing’ in Kaduna. And don’t forget to get Lady Franka and Mariam Pledge in on backing vocals. Those girls know how to fire up a party. It helps, of course, if you’re Steve ‘Dudu’ Black. Steve had a God-given knack for writing combustible dance tunes and the contacts in the industry to get the likes of Willy Nfor, Willy Roy and Felix Lebarty to make them explode. From the opening track, ‘Osasuima’, the heat never stops. On ‘No Stopping Me Now’ and ‘Ololufe/ Stay The Night’, it’s almost too hot to handle. Polished in a studio in London while Musical Youth recorded Pass The Dutchie in the next room, Happy Birthday To U is the gift that keeps on giving ‘ an irresistible blend of Highlife, Afro Beat and Afro Funk that is guaranteed to start a party on any dance floor. – Peter Moore