Leon Thomas, Blues And The Soulful Truth

(0 review)

BIS => 2023 02 24
1972 => 2022

29,00 € 29.0 EUR 29,00 €

29,00 €

    Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

    PRE ORDER => 2022 11 18


    A1 Let's Go Down To Lucy's 4:25
    A2 L-O-V-E 2:51
    A3 Gypsy Queen 10:17
    A4 Love Each Other 3:15
    B1 Shape Your Mind To Die 5:19
    B2 Boom-Boom-Boom 4:50
    B3 China Doll 5:00
    B4 C.C. Rider 6:21


    The title of Thomas’s third album for Bob Thiele’s Flying Dutchman referenced Oliver Nelson’s classic 1961 LP The Blues and the Abstract Truth. Released in 1972, Blues And The Soulful Truth featured an expansive all-star band that included Pretty Purdie (drums), Stanley Clarke (bass), Cecil Payne (Baritone sax) and the unsung Neal Creque (keyboards). It’s a soul meets jazz meets the blues masterpiece with arrangements from ex James Brown horn-man Pee Wee Ellis. This astounding album features the extraordinary ‘Shape Your Mind To Die’ ‘L.O.V.E’ a captivating vocal version of Gabor Szabo’s Gypsy Queen, the compelling ‘Love Each Other’, the plaintive ‘China Doll’ and a driving version of John Lee Hooker’s Boom-Boom-Boom. Pressed on 180gm vinyl we have remained faithful to the original pressing replicating the Flying Dutchman label style and gatefold sleeve.