Funk Inc, Superfunk

    20,00 € 20,00 € 20.0 EUR

    20,00 €

    Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

    Ajouter au panier

    1LP - BGP
    2021 09 10

    International : Standard / Express delivery
    France : Franco de port 125€HT 

    Conditions générales
    Shipping: 5-10 Business Days


    A1 Message From The Meters 6:09

    A2 Goodbye, So Long 4:26

    A3 The Hill Where The Lord Hides 8:00

    B1 Honey, I Love You 3:23

    B2 Just Don't Mean A Thing 5:02

    B3 I'm Going To Love You 9:34


    Indianapolis band led by organist Bobby Watley (ex-Lonnie Smith group) and driven by his funky Jack McDuff-influenced playing. Discovered in March 1971, Funk Inc had sent Bob Porter a demo tape which languished in a pile of other until the producer finally got around to working his way through the whole batch. The band's tape grabbed him as soon as he heard the first notes and the rest, as they say, is history. A quintet, Funk Inc's constituent members were leader Bobby Watley on organ, Eugene Barr on tenor saxophone, Steve Weakley on guitar, Jimmy Munford on drums and Cecil Hunt on congas. Watley, the leader, worked originally as a drummer, with both Winston Walls and Lonnie Smith. He switched to organ in 1969 and was heavily influenced by Jack McDuff. Barr played his first professional gig with Little Milton and then went on to lead his own band prior to joining Funk Inc. Munford worked with artists of the calibre of Etta James, Jerry Butler and James Brown. Hunt had been with The Coasters as well as playing with local California bands. Weakley was one of the (then) new breed of guitarists whose debt owed as much to Jimi Hendrix as Kenny Burrell.


    Recently viewed Products